New NYSUT RA/AFT Delegates Chosen

Tuesday, November 28, 2023

At the LUT Executive Board meeting on Wednesday, November 15, LUT President, John Caulfield, announced the selection of nine LUT Delegates to the New York State United Teachers (NYSUT) Representative Assembly (RA) and the American Federation of Teachers (AFT) Convention.

As per our LUT Constitution, the LUT President is an automatic delegate and ranking member of the LUT delegation. The other eight (8) delegates selected are:

  • LUT Treasurer, Stephen Austin
  • LUT Vice President, Elementary Schools, Donna DiPalo
  • LUT Vice President, Middle Schools, Lee Gardner
  • Salk Building Representative, Janet Jakubowski
  • Abbey Lane Building Representative, Mirna Jewels
  • LUT Vice President, Political Action, John Lipani
  • Frank Martin, Salk Middle School
  • LUT Supplemental Benefits Fund Director, Lisa Poggioli

The number of NYSUT RA Delegates the LUT has is determined by the number of members in good standing in our union. As per the NYSUT Constitution, RA Delegates are elected every 2 years and serve a two-year term. NYSUT RA Delegates have several responsibilities including attending monthly NYSUT Election District (ED) meetings and the annual NYSUT Representative Assembly. Delegates may also be asked to attend the bi-annual AFT convention and represent the interested of the LUT at that event.

A delegate election was planned for November 30. However, because there were eight candidates who declared for the election and eight positions available, there was no need for an election to be held.

Special thanks for administering the delegate election process should go to the members of the Delegate Election Committee who provided the notice of election to the LUT membership and ensured that the election process took place in accordance with our union Constitution. The Election Committee members were; Abbey Lane Building Representative, Krista Beasley, Gardiners Avenue Building Representative, John Bencivenga, LUT Corresponding Secretary, Joe Romano (Chairperson), and Salk Middle School Building Representative, Tara Tomeo.

Congratulations to our new NYSUT RA Delegates and thank you for your service to the LUT.

Found in: